Faculty and Staff Committees for Presidential Research at Harvard Named – Harvard Gazette

The Harvard Presidential Research Committee, comprising the 12 members of Harvard Corporation other than the president and three members of the Board of Supervisors, today announced the composition of the faculty and staff advisory committees for research. The composition of a third advisory committee, made up of students from across the University, will be announced at a later date. The members of the faculty committee are:

  • Archon Fung (Chair), Winthrop Laflin McCormack Professor of Citizenship and Self-Government and Director of the Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation, Harvard Kennedy School of Government
  • Martin Bechthold, Kumagai Professor of Architectural Technology, Harvard Graduate School of Design and Co-Director of the Masters in Design Engineering Program
  • Gabriella Blum, Rita E. Hauser Professor of Human Rights and Humanitarian Law and Associate Dean for Graduate Program and International Legal Studies, Harvard Law School
  • Marcia Castro, Andelot Professor of Demography and Chair of the Department of Global Health and Population, Harvard Chan School of Public Health
  • Suzannah Clark, Morton B. Knafel Professor of Music, Faculty of Arts and Science, and Director of the Mahindra Humanities Center at Harvard University
  • Susan Dymecki, Professor of Genetics, Blavatnik Institute, Harvard Medical School
  • Lakshminarayanan “Maha” Mahadevan, Lola England de Valpine Professor of Applied Mathematics, Harvard Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Professor of Physics and Professor of Organismal and Evolutionary Biology, Faculty of Arts and Science, and Dean from Mather House Faculty, Harvard College
  • Tsedal Neeley, Naylor Fitzhugh Professor of Business Administration and Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Research, Harvard Business School
  • Meghan O’Sullivan, Jeane Kirkpatrick Professor of International Business Practice and Director of the Geopolitics of Energy Project, Harvard Kennedy School of Government
  • Matthew Ichihashi Potts, Plummer Professor of Christian Morality, Harvard Divinity School and Minister Pusey at Memorial Church
  • Eric Rubin, Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Assistant Professor of Immunology and Infectious Diseases, Harvard Chan School of Public Health, and Editor of the New England Journal of Medicine
  • Tommie Shelby, Caldwell Titcomb Professor of African and African American Studies and Philosophy and Chair of the Department of African and African American Studies, Faculty of Arts and Science
  • Jeremy Stein, Moise Y. Safra Professor of Economics, Faculty of Arts and Science
  • Adriana Umaña-Taylor, Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot Professor of Education, Harvard Graduate School of Education
  • Amy Wagers, Forst Family Professor of Stem Cells and Regenerative Biology and Co-Chair of the Department of Stem Cells and Regenerative Biology, Harvard School of Arts and Science and Medical School.

“Harvard’s faculty are the cornerstone of our academic enterprise, and it will be invaluable to have the varied perspectives of such an exceptional group of faculty members as we pursue the search for Harvard’s next president,” said said Penny Pritzker, Senior Fellow of the Harvard Corporation. and Chairman of the Presidential Search Committee. “Their expertise in various disciplines and fields and their in-depth knowledge of different parts of Harvard will be integral to the research process, as we continue to seek out and benefit from the perspectives of faculty, students, staff, alumni and other people with research ideas to share.

“It is an honor to have the opportunity to work on this task with such outstanding colleagues from across the University,” said Fung, Chair of the Faculty Committee. “We will strive to advise the Research Committee on the opportunities and challenges of this particular time, to encourage and facilitate input from colleagues across the University, and to develop insightful perspectives from faculty that will assist the Research Committee. looking to find a great new president.”

The Staff Advisory Committee consists of a subset of the University’s Board of Trustees, which includes the administrative deans of the various schools as well as senior central administration officers. The members of the committee are:

  • Meredith Weenick (Chair), Executive Vice President
  • Kristen Anderson, Administrative Dean, Harvard Divinity School
  • Tim Bowman, Dean for Administration and Finance, Harvard Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
  • Kate Calvin, Executive Dean for Administration, Harvard Chan School of Public Health
  • Sherri Charleston, Director of Diversity and Inclusion
  • Angela Crispi, Executive Dean for Administration, Harvard Business School
  • Manuel Cuevas-Trisán, Vice President of Human Resources
  • Mark Goble, Associate Dean for Operations and Finance, Harvard Graduate School of Design
  • Klara Jelinkova, vice president and chief information officer of the university
  • Jack Jennings, Executive Dean for Administration, Harvard Graduate School of Education
  • Scott Jordan, Dean of Administration and Finance, Faculty of Arts and Science
  • Stacey Kane, Director of Risk and Compliance and IT Strategy and Security, Harvard School of Dental Medicine
  • Nisha Mongia, Executive Dean, Harvard Radcliffe Institute
  • Lisa Muto, Executive Dean for Administration, Harvard Medical School
  • Martha Whitehead, Vice President of Harvard Library and University Librarian
  • Tracee Whitley, Dean for Administration, Harvard Law School
  • Janney Wilson, Executive Dean, Harvard Kennedy School of Government.

Committee members will play a lead role in soliciting research-related advice from the much larger population of Harvard staff and relaying key findings and observations to the research committee.

“Harvard would not and could not be Harvard without the indispensable work of our staff members,” Pritzker said. “Their creativity, initiative, resilience and adaptability have made a huge difference in navigating the past few years, and the search committee expects to learn a lot from how University staff members see the possibilities ahead. .”

“Research like this is pivotal moments of transition and an important opportunity to lift our eyes beyond our day-to-day work and look to the future,” said Weenick, who assumed her role as vice president. executive this month after eight years at Harvard. vice president of campus services. “The Staff Advisory Committee will provide opportunities for staff across all schools and central administration to share ideas and aspirations that will benefit the search committee as it seeks to identify Harvard’s next leader.”

As noted in the message initiating the search, members of the Harvard community are encouraged to send tips and nominations directly to the search committee in one of three ways:

  • By emailing [email protected]
  • By providing answers to the questions posted here.
  • By addressing a letter to the Harvard Presidential Search Committee, Loeb House, 17 Quincy St., Cambridge, MA 02138.

The search committee will keep responses confidential.

Comments are closed.