ASH to Present Honorary Awards to 12 Hematologists

August 28, 2022

3 minute read

We have not been able to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this problem, please contact [email protected]

Several hematologists will be honored at this year’s ASH Annual Meeting, scheduled for Dec. 10-13 in New Orleans.

The ASH Honors Awards recognize clinicians and scientists who have made significant contributions to the field.

Jane N. Winter, MD

Jane N. Winter

“We applaud this year’s honorary recipients, all of whom have made tremendous contributions to our field. They have dedicated their careers to advancing patient care, research and education, all of which directly improve the lives of people with blood disorders,” said the ASH President. Jane N. Winter, MD, professor of medicine at the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center at Northwestern University, said in a press release. “ASH values ​​the opportunity to recognize leaders and role models with diverse perspectives, talents, and experiences, who are dedicated to advancing the future of hematology.”

Irving Weissman, MD, Director of the Stanford Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine, will receive the Wallace H. Coulter Lifetime Achievement Award in Hematology.

Weissman – recognized for his contributions to the understanding of stem cell biology – has conducted extensive research on hematopoiesis, leukemia and hematopoietic stem cells.

Peter Hillmen, MD, Ph.D., Emeritus Professor at the University of Leeds Medical School, and John Atkinson, MD, professor of medicine and molecular microbiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, will receive the lecture and the Ernest Beutler Prize.

The award honors one person for enabling advances in basic science and another for using clinical science or translational research to lead advances in basic science to tangible improvements in patient care.

Hillmen will be recognized for his research on paroxysmal nocturnal hemoglobinuria. Atkinson will be recognized for his discovery of a membrane cofactor protein, a complement regulatory protein.

James Gavin, MD, Ph.D., Clinical Professor of Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine, and David Wilkes, MD, Dean Emeritus of the University of Virginia School of Medicine, will receive the ASH Award for Leadership in Promoting Diversity.

Gavin and Wilkes will be honored for their commitment to diversity in medicine through their leadership of the Harold Amos Medical School Development Program of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. The program has supported 330 scholars since 1983.

Irene Ghobrial, MD

Irene Ghobrial

Irene Ghobrial, MD, Director of the Clinical Investigator Research Program at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, will receive the William Dameshek Award.

The award is given to an early or mid-career hematologist who has recently made outstanding contributions to the field of hematology.

Ghobrial will be recognized for her research into the mechanisms underlying disease progression in multiple myeloma.

Bruce Blazar, MD, Chair of Pediatric Oncology at the University of Minnesota Medical School, will receive the E. Donnall Thomas Lecture and Award.

The award recognizes pioneering research achievements that represent a paradigm shift or significant discovery.

Blazar will be recognized for his contributions to the field of transplantation immunology and stem cell biology, and his research focused on strategies to reduce the complications of blood and bone marrow transplants.

Timothy Ley, MD, Professor of Oncology and Section Head of Stem Cell Biology in the Division of Oncology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, and Robert Montgomery, MD, professor at the Medical College of Wisconsin, will receive the Henry M. Stratton Medal.

The award recognizes two principal investigators who have made significant contributions to basic and clinical/translational research in hematology over several years.

Ley, the basic science laureate, will be recognized for leading efforts to sequence the first human cancer genomes from patients with acute myeloid leukemia. This work led to the discovery of previously unknown factors in AML and also helped create a foundation for the Cancer Genome Atlas.

Montgomery, the translational/clinical winner, will be recognized for his contributions to the understanding of hemophilia, von Willebrand’s disease, and interactions between von Willebrand factor and factor VIII.

Michel Caligiuri

Michel Caligiuri

Photo by Christophe Flowers 2018

Christopher Flowers

Michael Caligiuri, MD, president of the City of Hope National Medical Center, and Christopher Flowers, MD, MS, Chair of Lymphoma/Myeloma at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, will receive ASH Mentorship Awards for their contribution to the professional development of several hematology trainees.

Caligiuri has mentored over 100 people over the past 3 decades. He has also been instrumental in supporting the ASH Minority Medical Student Scholarship Program.

Flowers co-developed the ASH Minority Recruitment Initiative, which offers a 13-year pipeline of scholarships from freshman year of medical school to faculty positions. He has also sponsored participants in the ASH Minority Medical Student Award program, the ASH Amos Minority Faculty Development program, and several other training programs. He was also a faculty member and co-chair of the ASH Clinical Research Training Institute.

Comments are closed.